Skip to main content

Coming from Blokada

NetCage can’t be installed today. It has no store listing and no public download, so this page ends without an install step. It covers how the two apps differ and which pages here to read first.

How does Blokada differ from NetCage?​

Blokada removes ads and trackers across your apps and browsers, with a free app and subscription editions on top. NetCage isn’t an ad blocker and doesn’t do that job. It has no lists and no content filtering, and an app you leave online keeps everything it had. If you want ads gone while you keep using an app, stay with Blokada.

Android allows one VPN at a time. If Blokada holds that slot on your phone, NetCage can’t hold it as well.

Choose Blokada if what you want is ads and trackers blocked across every app and browser, with a family edition on top.

Choose NetCage if you want a chosen app fully offline; NetCage closes the app’s route and leaves ad lists and content filtering to others.

What should I read first?​

NetCage imports nothing from Blokada, so there’s no settings file to bring across. You’d choose your apps again.

  • How it works: the difference between refusing an app and filtering it.
  • Caging apps: what taking one app offline looks like.
  • Limitations: the handoffs a whole-app block can’t catch.

What does each one state?​

Checked 7 November 2026. The Blokada column comes from the linked pages, and NetCage’s from its code.

FeatureBlokadaNetCage
Blocks one chosen app’s internetNot stated on the pages we checkedYes
Keeps blocking while the app is in the backgroundNot stated on the pages we checkedYes
Needs no rootYes (blokada.org (opens in a new tab))Yes
Open sourceYes (blokada.org (opens in a new tab))No
Shows adsNot stated on the pages we checkedPartly. Promotions for the developer’s own apps only, no ad network
In-app purchasesNot stated on the pages we checkedNo

What does Blokada cost?​

PlanPriceAs statedSourceChecked
Blokada 5 for AndroidFreeFreeblokada.org (opens in a new tab)7 November 2026
Blokada 6, Blokada Family, Blokada PlusNo figure publishedQuote only: subscription with a 7 day free trial; prices differ by country and store and are shown before you payblokada.org (opens in a new tab)7 November 2026

NetCage publishes no price.

Where can I check this?​