Skip to main content

Coming from AdGuard

NetCage can’t be installed today. It has no store listing and no public download, so this page ends without an install step. It covers how the two apps differ and which pages here to read first.

How does AdGuard differ from NetCage?​

AdGuard filters ads and trackers out of apps you keep using, and it’s sold as a licence across several devices. NetCage isn’t an ad blocker and doesn’t filter anything. It refuses a chosen app’s connections and leaves every other app alone, with no certificate to install and no lists to update.

AdGuard’s local VPN and NetCage want the same slot, and Android allows one VPN at a time.

Choose AdGuard if you want ads and trackers filtered out of apps you keep using, across several devices on one licence.

Choose NetCage if you want a chosen app refused outright rather than filtered, with no certificate installed and no licence to carry.

What should I read first?​

NetCage imports nothing from AdGuard, so there’s no settings file to bring across. You’d choose your apps again.

  • How it works: refusing an app, which isn’t the same job as filtering one.
  • Caging apps: what you do in place of setting up filters.
  • Limitations: what stays out of reach of a whole-app block.

What does each one state?​

Checked 7 November 2026. The AdGuard column comes from the linked pages, and NetCage’s from its code.

FeatureAdGuard Ad Blocker for AndroidNetCage
Blocks one chosen app’s internetNot stated on the pages we checkedYes
Keeps blocking while the app is in the backgroundNot stated on the pages we checkedYes
Needs no rootYes (adguard.com (opens in a new tab))Yes
Open sourceNot stated on the pages we checkedNo
Shows adsNot stated on the pages we checkedPartly. Promotions for the developer’s own apps only, no ad network
In-app purchasesNot stated on the pages we checkedNo

What does AdGuard cost?​

PlanPriceAs statedSourceChecked
Free versionFreeThe free version blocks ads in browsers; the site says it cannot filter appsadguard.com (opens in a new tab)7 November 2026
Licence, lower tier shown$2.49 a monthBilled annually, VAT may apply. The page sells a Personal licence (3 devices) and a Family licence (9 devices) and also lifetime licences; the tier label beside this figure was not legible in the text we readadguard.com (opens in a new tab)7 November 2026
Licence, higher tier shown$5.49 a monthBilled annually, VAT may apply, shown beside a crossed-out $7.47 /mo; tier label not legible in the text we readadguard.com (opens in a new tab)7 November 2026

NetCage publishes no price.

Where can I check this?​